Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Each week four fans of Marvel Comics Agent Lauren, Agent Michelle Agent Chris, and Director SP Rupert debrief you on the latest episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or other related Marvel Universe content and news. Don't forget to leave a Voicemail at 1-844-THE-BUS1 (1-844-843-2871). Legends of Shield is a proud member of the GonnaGeek Podcast Network.

Oct 11, 2021

The Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Lauren, Consultant Chris, Producer of the show Director SP discuss the Disney+ What If…? season one finale episode “What If…The Watcher Broke His Oath?” the weekly Marvel news and listener feedback. The Team debriefs you National LED Day,the EPIC What If…? season finale, that final screen voice appearance by Chadwick Boseman, the Watcher Watch report, the amazing fights, the Hydra Stomper surprise, how accessible A.C. Bradley has been, how What If…? stacks up in Disney+, all the episode notable voice acting, the cats of Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. with their reactions to the episode, Bernard the Flamingo Accountant, Strange’s strange toast, Multiverse food options, Scocones of the multiverse, how to take a Christmas Tree to the eye, the deal with the Infinity Stones in the multiverse, Scarlett Johansson’s lawsuit settlement with Disney, Agent Lauren’s big prediction on the new Guardians Of The Galaxy character in the 2022 holiday special, and Kathyn Hahn’s big score. Stay tuned after the credits for a few minutes of Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. bonus audio.

THIS TIME ON LEGENDS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.:

What If…The Watcher Broke His Oath?
From the Disney+ Marvel series What If (S1E9)
Weekly Marvel News
The end to the crazy Scarlett Johansson lawsuit
More information about 2022’s Guardians Of The Galaxy Holiday Special
Hints at what we’ll see in What If Season 2
Your Feedback
Voicemail from Mr Paracletes

WHAT IF…? “WHAT IF … THE WATCHER BROKE HIS OATH?” [5:51]

S1E9 “What If … The Watcher Broke His Oath?”

“What If … The Watcher Broke His Oath?” premiered on Disney+ on Wednesday October 6th, 2021.

Series Directed By: Bryan Andrews
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm1635535/?ref_=ttfc_fc_dr1
3 directing credits starting 1999
3x Men In Black: The Series
5x Jackie Chan Adventures
9x What If
Also a Storyboard Artist with 41 credit
And a Writer with 9 total credits

Story Editor: Mathew Chauncy
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm10508309/?ref_=ttfc_fc_wr3#writer
2 Writer Credits starting in 2018
16x 3Below: Tales Of Arcadia
9x What If…? (Story Editor for all episodes but Written by for 5)

Executive Producer: A.C. Bradley (Creator, Head Writer and Showrunner)
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm5642271/?ref_=tt_cl_wr_1 
5 writing credits starting 2005
1x Arrow
28x Trollhunters: Tales of Arcadia
38x 3Below: Tales of Arcadia
9x What If

Music  Laura Karpman
https://www.imdb.com/name/nm0440017/?ref_=fn_al_nm_1
139 Composing Credits starting in 1989
Winner of Primetime Emmy for Outstanding Music Composition for a Documentary Series or Special (Original Dramatic Score) - Why We Hate (2019) Episode: "Why We Hate: Tools & Tactics (2019)
HBO series Lovecraft Country (TV Series) 2020
Craft in America (TV Series documentary) (18 episodes) 2013
L.A.'s Finest (TV Series) (13 episodes) 2019
Jeffrey Wright                       ... The Watcher (voice) 9 episodes
Westworld
The Hunger Games
Casino Royale
Quantum Of Solace
Samuel L. Jackson ...         Nick Fury (voice)
Jungle Fever
Pulp Fiction
Coming To America
Jurassic Park
Die Hard with a Vengeance
A Time to Kill
Long Kiss Goodnight
Eve's Bayou
Star Wars: Episode I - The Phantom Menace
Star Wars: Episode II - Attack of the Clones
The Incredibles
Coach Carter
Star Wars: Episode III - Revenge of the Sith
Snakes on a Plane
Star Wars: The Clone Wars
Mother and Child
Django Unchained
Hayley Atwell ...         Peggy Carter / Captain Carter (voice)
Doctor Who
Cinderella (2015)
3Below: Tales of Arcadia
Mission Impossible
Lake Bell ...         Natasha Romanoff / Black Widow
Boston Legal
It’s Complicated
No Strings Attached
Harley Quinn (TV Series) Poison Ivy
In a Word…
No Escape
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (Vanesssa Fisk)
The Secret Life of Pets 2
Frank Grillo ...         Brock Rumlow 
Minority Report
Blind Justice (TV Series)
Prison Break (TV Series)
Zero Dark Thirty
Hitman's Wife's Bodyguard
Georges St-Pierre                         ...         Batroc (voice)
Kickboxer: Vengeance
Chadwick Boseman                         ...         Black Panther (4 episodes)
Lincoln Heights
42
Marshall
Get On Up
Brian T. Delaney ...         Peter Quill (voice)
Jersey Girl
Total Recall (2012)
Star Trek Into Darkness (Additional Voices)
Minions (additional voices)
Batman Unlimited (TV Series) - Scarecrow
The Secret Life of Pets (Additional Voices)
Resident Evil: Vendetta
The Grinch (Additional Voices)
Voltron: Legendary Defender (TV Series)
The Secret Life of Pets 2
A bunch of video game voice over credits
Mick Wingert                                     ...         Tony Stark / Iron Man
The Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes (TV Series)
Kung Fu Panda 3
Kung Fu Panda: Legends of Awesomeness (TV Series)
Kung Fu Panda (TV Series)
Voltron: Legendary Defender (TV Series)
Attack on Titan (TV Series)
Kung Fu Panda: The Paws of Destiny (TV Series)
Cynthia Kaye McWilliams             ...         Gamora (voice)
Prison Break (TV Series)
Valorant
League of Legends
Michael B. Jordan ...         Killmonger
The Wire (TV Series)
Friday Night Lights (TV Series)
Parenthood (TV Series)
Chronicle
Fantastic Four (2015)
Creed
Creed II
Space Jam: A New Legacy
Ozioma Akagha ...         Shuri 
2 Broke Girls (TV Series)
Teen Titans Go! (TV Series) - Bumblebee
Runaways (TV Series) - Tamar Darius Davis widow
Chris Hemsworth ...         Thor
Star Trek
Snow White and the Huntsman
Red Dawn (2012)
Star Trek Into Darkness
Ghostbusters (2016)
12 Strong
Benedict Cumberbatch             ...         Doctor Stephen Strange
Hawking
War Horse
The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey
Star Trek Into Darkness
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
The Imitation Game
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
Zoolander 2
Sherlock 
The Grinch
1917
Ross Marquand …          Ultron (Played Johann Schmidt in Captain Carter episode)
Mad Men (Paul Newman)
Phineas and Ferb: Star Wars (2014) ... Han Solo (voice)
The Walking Dead (Aaron)
Family Guy (TV Series)
Blockbuster (TV Series)
American Dad! (TV Series)
Robot Chicken (TV Series short)
Invincible (TV Series)
As an aside:
Avengers: Infinity War - Red Skull (Stonekeeper)
Avengers: Endgame - Red Skull (Stonekeeper)
Avengers: Damage Control (Video Game) - Ultron (voice)
Toby Jones ...         Arnim Zola (voice)
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1
Your Highness
The Adventures of Tintin
The Hunger Games
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2
Atomic Blonde
The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance (TV Series)
Tom Hiddleston ...         Loki
War Horse
Midnight in Paris
The Deep Blue Sea
Crimson Peak
Kurt Russell ...         Ego (1 episode)
Used Cars
Escape From New York
The Fox And The Hound (voice)
The Thing
Big Trouble In Little China
Overboard
Tango & Cash
Backdraft
Tombstone
Forrest Gump (Elvis Voice)
Stargate
Executive Decision
Escape From LA
Soldier
3000 Miles to Graceland
Vanilla Sky
Miracle
Sky high
Poseidon
Deepwater Horizon
Furious 7
The Fate of the Furious
F9: The Fast Saga

https://www.reddit.com/r/marvelstudios/comments/q1ykwj/what_if_season_finale_title_what_if_the_watcher/hfi1440/
aManPerson
in the comics they explain that there's something beyond marvel comics. i dont know what they call it. lets call it omni-universe.
in another multiverse is all of the DC comics. all of the multiverses are contained in omni-universe. so i guess in this thinking, yes. there is another marvel MCU multiverse where the watcher doesn't do a bad touch.

NEWS [1:01:46]

TOP NEWS STORY OF THE WEEK

Shang Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings is scheduled to premiere on September 3rd, 2021.

Eternals is scheduled to premiere on November 5th, 2021.

Disney+ Day on November 12th, 2021 including streaming premiere for Shang-Chi

Hawkeye is scheduled to premiere on November 24th, 2021. There will be 6 episodes … I think. 

Spider-Man: No Way Home is scheduled to premiere on December 17th, 2021.

Ms Marvel is supposed to premiere late in 2021 on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

Moon Knight is supposed to premiere late in 2022 on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

She-Hulk is supposed to premiere late in 2022 on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (Mar 25th 2022?)

Secret Invasion is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

Ironheart is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

Thor: Love and Thunder (May 6th, 2022)

Armor Wars  is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (July 8th, 2022)
https://comicbook.com/marvel/amp/news/black-panther-riri-williams-ironheart-mcu-debut-dominique-thorne/

Echo is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

An untitled Wakanda series is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

The Marvels (November 11th, 2022)

Also, we know there will be a Loki season two at some point.

Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (February 17th, 2023)

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (May 5th, 2023)

Fantastic Four  (???)

I Am Groot is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. I’ve heard this will be a holiday special.

Untitled (February 16th, 2024)

Untitled (May 3rd, 2024)

Untitled (July 26th, 2024)

Untitled (November 8th, 2024)

List of MCU films in production without premiere dates
Fantastic Four
Deadpool 3
Blade
Avengers-Level Team up to end the phase (not confirmed in development)
Could be linked to Russo Brothers story from last week
Captain America Sequel
Possible X-Men

Projects that have NOT been announced yet
Young Avengers

MCU – MARVEL STUDIOS

Scarlett Johansson, Disney Settle Explosive ‘Black Widow’ Lawsuit
https://www.hollywoodreporter.com/business/business-news/scarlett-johansson-disney-settle-black-widow-lawsuit-1235022598/
https://deadline.com/2021/09/disney-black-widow-lawsuit-scarlett-johansson-rsettlement-1234847437/
https://youtu.be/XaJ5zfxWDv0
Scarlett Johansson and Disney have settled a breach of contract lawsuit over the star’s Black Widow payday, The Hollywood Reporter has learned. Terms of the deal were not disclosed.
Disney Studios chairman Alan Bergman added: “I’m very pleased that we have been able to come to a mutual agreement with Scarlett Johansson regarding Black Widow. We appreciate her contributions to the Marvel Cinematic Universe and look forward to working together on a number of upcoming projects, including Disney’s Tower of Terror.”
“I am happy to have resolved our differences with Disney,” said Johansson in a statement released Thursday. “I’m incredibly proud of the work we’ve done together over the years and have greatly enjoyed my creative relationship with the team. I look forward to continuing our collaboration in years to come.”

Disney+

The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special Involves a Major New MCU Character
James Gunn @JamesGunn
In my incredibly subjective & admittedly often odd opinion, we'll be introducing one of the greatest MCU characters of all time. #GotGHolidaySpecial
https://twitter.com/JamesGunn/status/1444366802411270159

https://www.cbr.com/guardians-of-the-galaxy-holiday-special-new-mcu-character/
The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special is a new in-canon adventure that shows the Guardians during the holiday season. Director James Gunn, who helmed the first two Guardians of the Galaxy films, will be returning for the roughly 40-minute short, which he says will be required viewing for fans of the franchise. Now, Gunn has expanded on his promotion for the special to reveal that it will also be "introducing one of the greatest MCU characters of all time."
Before the Guardians of the Galaxy take back the spotlight in their special, they'll be tagging along in Taika Waititi's Thor: Love and Thunder. The film is expected to come out on May 6, 2022 and features the remaining Guardians as supporting characters, with Gunn communicating with Waititi to ensure that the characters were handled consistently ahead of their next big screen outing.
The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special arrives on Disney+ in 2022, while Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 arrives in theaters May 23, 2023.

Inside Marvel’s ‘What If…?’ Finale, Season 2 Plans and the T’Challa Spinoff That Never Was
https://variety.com/2021/tv/news/marvel-what-if-season-1-finale-tchalla-spin-off-chadwick-boseman-1235082366/
“There was planning to have Star Lord T’Challa spin off into his own show,” [Driector Bryan] Andrews tells Variety. “We were all very excited. We know [Chadwick] would have loved it, too.”
There’s also a brief moment in the finale where we meet an alternate version of Gamora with a sort of space Tony Stark. Will we get to see more of that universe in Season 2?
Bradley: That’s a definite yes. Basically what happened was we originally had an episode planned for earlier in the season that was a fun, light-hearted, living, breathing Tony Stark-centric episode with Gamora. However, due to the COVID pandemic, one of our animation houses was hit incredibly hard, and the episode needed to be pushed into Season 2, because it would not be finished in time. Given everything that we’ve all went through over the past two years, pushing an episode of television is absolutely nothing in comparison. And we understood. We hope fans enjoy the ride next year.

(2 Part Story)
Marvel's What If...? team promises 'resolution' in season finale and teases season 2
https://ew.com/tv/marvels-what-if-season-1-finale-ac-bradley-bryan-andrews/
...At least we know season 2 is coming since Bradley says that all the episodes of next season have already been written. "Going into the second season, we're sticking with anthology form, and it's going to be all-new stories, lots of fun, new heroes, and pulling more from Phase Four than we were obviously able to this season," she says. "Hopefully, we'll see hints of Eternals and Shang-Chi and the Black Widow characters. The fun of What If...? is that we get to explore the entire infinite multiverse, so we try and bounce around as much as we can. I want to play with all these characters, and as much as I love Captain Carter, we've got to share the love. I'm very excited to show new worlds, new heroes."
Bradley also hints that while many of season 1's episodes featured "big, let's end the world, let's kill everyone" arcs, season 2 episodes will "focus a lot more on the character stories and these heroes and showing a different side of them that people don't expect and hopefully they can relate to."
"We're not a show that's designed to set up Avengers 5," she adds. "It's supposed to be just about entertainment and what these heroes mean to us. When I took the job, one of my rules was let's be free. We're in the multiverse — we should be as free as can be and go and run into the wild, into the stories the movies will never do, into the stories the TV shows will never do, and show both Disney and the fans all the possibilities of these characters."

What If...? Head Writer Teases Gamora "Prequel" Episode in Season 2
https://comicbook.com/marvel/news/what-if-gamora-episode-season-2-prequel-spoilers/
As Bradley explained in an exclusive interview with ComicBook.com, the episode recounting those versions of Tony and Gamora ended up being delayed due to production problems tied to the COVID-19 pandemic. But as Bradley reassured, that story is coming at some point in the series' second season, as a sort of "prequel" for her appearance in the finale.
"We definitely will," Bradley said, when asked if we'll see more of Gamora. "What happened with the Gamora episode, there was originally supposed to be — early on in the season — a Tony and Gamora-centric episode. However, due to COVID and production delays, one of our amazing, amazing animation houses around the globe got hit pretty hard by the pandemic. And we were left with two choices: push the entire season to later this year, or push this one episode to Season 2. We made the choice to push that episode to Season 2, and hoped that seeing Gamora in the finale serves as a teaser for what is to come. In season two, it'll almost be like a little bit of a prequel, we'll see how Tony and Gamora became friends, because those two don't even interact in the main MCU universe."
"Given all the upheaval that we've been through in the past two years, pushing an episode is nothing, and we completely understand," Bradley continued. "Our animation houses have been absolute rock stars in pulling off this show."

‘WandaVision’ Spinoff Starring Kathryn Hahn in the Works at Disney Plus (EXCLUSIVE)
https://variety.com/2021/tv/news/wandavision-spinoff-kathryn-hahn-1235082445/
A “WandaVision” spinoff starring Kathryn Hahn is in development at Disney Plus from Marvel Studios, Variety has learned exclusively from sources.
Hahn would reprise the role of Agatha Harkness in the series, which is described by sources as a dark comedy, though exact plot details remain under wraps. “WandaVision” head writer Jac Schaeffer would serve as the writer and executive producer on the project. Should the spinoff go forward, it would be the first project Schaeffer has set up with Marvel since she signed an overall deal with them and 20th Television in May.

FEEDBACK [1:13:38]

TWITTER

https://twitter.com/LegendsofSHIELD/status/1445896570143117312
Legends S.H.I.E.L.D. @LegendsofSHIELD
Describe this week's @whatifofficial episode "What If...The Watcher Broke His Oath?" in one word. Go!

@Marvel @disneyplus @TheAshBradley  #WhatIf  #Ultron  #TheWatcher #CaptainCarter #SupremeStrange #killmonger #WhatIfZola #TChallaStarlord #TChalla #PartyThor #BlackWidow

Stargate "SP" Pioneer @StargatePioneer
Cosmic-tacular
Derrick Crow was mentioned in Gizmodo once. @KazekunForever
Incredible

Dr. Gnome to you @MrParacletes
VEGAS!

Greta the Cat’s BFF @adanagirl
Gif: “Whoa!”

VOICEMAIL

Voicemail from @Mr Paracletes
Dr. Gnome to you @MrParacletes
So, this relates to one of the questions I had about the episode, and I have a TL;DR explanation that may make sense if you guys want me to elaborate.
https://twitter.com/MrParacletes/status/1443981325636182057

PRIVATE MESSAGE:
@BEJT (MCU Wiki)
In terms of defining MCU canon - it's not something I had thought to do in the letter, again in large part due to this being written directly to Marvel Studios. But by this I mean what I would believe is the general understood definition: An official part of MCU continuity. Meaning, an official part of the continuity of the fictional universes which officially comprise the MCU: Earth-199999 and its adjacent universes confirmed as parts of the franchise. (In the case of the shows, the letter is specifically pleading for them to remain as Earth-199999, with the issue of shunting them to another universe addressed.)

OUTRO [1:19:15]

We would love to hear back from you! Call the voicemail line at 1-844-THE-BUS1 or 844-843-2871.

Join Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. next time as the hosts discuss an all Marvel news podcast. You can listen in live when we record Thursday Evenings at 8:00 PM Eastern time at Geeks.live. Contact Info: Please see http://www.legendsofshield.com for all of our contact information or call our voicemail line at 1-844-THE-BUS1 or 844-843-2871

Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Is a Proud Member Of The GonnaGeek Network (gonnageek.com).

This podcast was recorded on Thursday October 7th, 2021.

Standby for your S.H.I.E.L.D. debriefing ---

Audio and Video Production by Stargate Pioneer of GonnaGeek.com.