Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Each week three fans of Marvel Comics Agent Lauren, Agent Michelle and Director Stargate Pioneer debrief you on the latest episode of Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. or other related Marvel Universe content and news. Don't forget to leave a Voicemail at 1-844-THE-BUS1 (1-844-843-2871). Legends of Shield is a proud member of the GonnaGeek Podcast Network.

Feb 14, 2022

The Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Agent Michelle, Consultant Chris, and Producer of the show Director SP discuss the 1992 Marvel Entertainment Group X-Men The Animated Series season one final episodes “The Unstoppable Juggernaut,” “Days of Future Past: Part 1,” “Days of Future Past: Part 2,” and “The Final Decision.” They also discuss the top Marvel Studios news stories of the week including X-Men '97 Producers Reveal Intel on X-Men: The Animated Series Revival, Brie Larson’s training for The Marvels, and Some updates on She-Hulk from series Director Kat Coiro. The Team debriefs you on National Umbrella Day, X-Men theme composer Ron Wasserman background, a Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Previously On in honor of X-Men The Animated Series, why SP was wrong about the series episode air dates, the fantastic Days Of Future Past story, the ongoing Mutant character cameos in the series, Mastermold’s importance, how Magneto’s goals temporarily align with the X-Men, Gambit’s season-long story arc, the adorable Colossus, the shirtless Wolverine, the unique costume changes in the series, Jubilee’s integrations into the X-Men Team, and Mystique and Rogue’s family relationship. Stay tuned after the credits for a few minutes of Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. bonus audio.

 

THIS TIME ON LEGENDS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.:

 

  • Marvel Entertainment’s X-Men The Animated Series As Shown On Disney+
    • Discuss episodes 10-13 of the 1992 X-Men Animated Series
    • Some background into Ron Wasserman
  • Weekly Marvel Studio News
    • X-Men '97 Producers Reveal Intel on X-Men: The Animated Series Revival
    • Brie Larson’s training for The Marvels
    • Some updates on She-Hulk from series Director Kat Coiro
  • Your Feedback
    • A nice note on Discord
    • Your favorite Ming-Na Wen role

 

Tom Holland’s Lip Sync Battle - Rhianna’s Umbrella

https://youtu.be/SgxEnEzJhBA?t=73

 

X-MEN THE ANIMATED SERIES S1E10 – S1E13 [4:47]

 

X-Men The Animated Series Theme was Composed by Ron Wasserman

 

  • IMDB Credits
    • 76 Composer Credits since 1992
      • Mighty Morphin Power Rangers
      • X-Men: The Animated Series 
      • Dragon Ball Z 
      • America's Next Top Model
      • American Pickers
      • The Real Housewives of New York City
      • Hot in Cleveland
      • Spongebob
  • Career
    • Ron started working for Saban Entertainment in 1989
      • Stayed there for 6 ½ years
      • X-Men The Animated Series
      • Go Go Power Rangers
      • Alias (Saban didn’t want anyone to know Ron was the only one scoring)

                                 

X-Men The Animated Series Episodes 10-13 Premiered on “Fox Kids”

  • (Episode Order As Shown On Disney+, Premiere Dates As Shown On Fox)
    • S1E10 “The Unstoppable Juggernaut” Saturday March 6, 1993
    • S1E11 “Days of Future Past: Part 1” Saturday March 13, 1993
    • S1E12 “Days of Future Past: Part 2” Saturday March 20, 1993
    • S1E13 “The Final Decision” Saturday March 27, 1993
  • Produced By:
    • Will Meugniot
    • Larry Houston

           

X-Men The Animated Series Main Cast

  • Cedric Smith                                        ...         Professor X / Charles Xavier
    • 117 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Norm Spencer                                      ...         Cyclops / Scott Summers 
    • 31 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Catherine Disher                                  ...         Jean Grey / Phoenix
    • 122 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Alison Sealy-Smith                              ...         Storm / Ororo Munroe
    • 72 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Iona Morris                                          ...         Storm / Ororo Munroe
    • 101 Credits
      • Star Tek TOD (Little Girl)
      • Claudian Grant on Robotech
      • 2xStar Trek: Voyager
  • Lenore Zann                                         ...         Rogue
    • 110 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Cal Dodd                                              ...         Wolverine / Logan
    • 34 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Alyson Court                                        ...         Jubilee / Jubilation Lee
    • 100 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • George Buza                                        ...         Beast / Dr. Henry 'Hank' McCoy 
    • 163 Credits, best known for X-Men
  • Chris Potter                                         ...         Gambit / Remy LeBeau
    • 58 Credits
    • The Pacifier
    • Heartland
  •  Don Francks                                       ...         Sabretooth / Graydon Creed Sr. 
    • 191 Credits
    • Johnny Mnemonic
    • Heavy Metal
  • Brett Halsey                                         ...         Bolivar Trask
    • 154 Credits       
  • Barry Flatman                                      ...         Henry Peter Gyrich (works with Trask)
  • David Hemblen                         ...         Magneto / Erik Magnus Lehnsherr
  • Lawrence Bayne                                   ...         Cable / Nathan Dayspring-Summers
    • 127 Credits
  • Randall Carpenter        (She)                ...         Mystique / Raven Darkholme (voice)
    • 13 Credits         
  • Lally Cadeau                                         ...         Dr. Moira MacTaggert 
  • Stephen Ouimette                                ...         Angel / Warren Worthington III 
  • John Colicos                                        ...         Apocalypse / En Sabah Nur
  • Rick Bennett                                        ...         Colossus / Piotr Rasputin / Juggernaut / Cain Marko (voice)
  • Philip Akin                                           ...         Bishop (voice) (as Phil Aiken)
  • Marc Strange                                       ...         Forge (voice)
  • Brett Halsey                                         ...         Dr. Bolivar Trask (voice)

 

NEWS [41:40]

 

UPCOMING MARVEL STUDIOS SLATE OF PROJECTS

 

 

 

  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness (May 6, 2022)

 

 

 

  • Thor: Love and Thunder (July 8, 2022)

 

 

 

 

 

  • Ironheart is in development for release on Disney+
    • No date has been announced. 
    • Series confirmed on Disney+ Day 12 Nov 21

 

  • Armor Wars is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

 

  • Echo is in development for release on Disney+
    • Confirmed on Disney+ Day 12 Nov 21 but no release/premiere date given. 

 

  • Agatha: House of Harkness
    • Announced/Confirmed on Disney+ Day 12 Nov 2021

 

  • An untitled Wakanda series is in development for release on Disney+ but no date has been announced. 

 

  • X-Men ‘97 (2023)
    • Written by Executive Producer Beau DeMayo.
    • Announced Disney+ Day (12 Nov 2021)

 

  • The Marvels (Feb. 17, 2023)

 

  •  Marvel Zombies
    • Animated series announced on Disney+ Day 12 Nov 21
    • No date given

 

  • Also, we know there will be a Loki season two at some point.

 

  • Ant-Man and the Wasp: Quantumania (July 28, 2023)

 

  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 3 (May 5th, 2023)

 

  • Fantastic Four  (???)

 

  • Guardians Of The Galaxy Holiday Special
    • Confirmed during Disney+ Day 12 Nov 21
    • Different from I Am Groot

 

  • Spider-Man: Freshman Year
    • Announced during Disney+ Day 12 Nov 2021
    • No premiere date given

 

  • Untitled (February 16th, 2024)

 

  • Untitled (May 3rd, 2024)

 

  • Untitled (July 26th, 2024)

 

  • Untitled (November 8th, 2024)

 

  • List of MCU films in production without premiere dates
    • Fantastic Four
    • Deadpool 3
    • Blade
    • Avengers-Level Team up to end the phase (not confirmed in development)
      • Could be linked to Russo Brothers story from last week
    • Captain America Sequel
    • Possible X-Men

 

  • Projects that have NOT been announced yet
    • Young Avengers

 

MCU – MARVEL STUDIOS

 

Brie Larson says training for her role as Captain Marvel 'went far beyond what I ever believed was possible for my body'

https://www.insider.com/brie-larson-captain-marvel-training-exceeded-fitness-expectations-2022-2

Larson spoke to Insider about how her fitness journey has changed over the years and how she trained for the upcoming "Captain Marvel" sequel.

 

Brie Larson said that the strides made to get into superhero shape for her role as Carol Danvers/Captain Marvel in the Marvel Cinematic Universe exceeded her own expectations.

 

"I affectionately called myself 'an introvert with asthma' before I got to play Carol Danvers and I started training first out of sheer panic, because I thought, 'Oh my gosh, Marvel doesn't know that I don't even know how to walk up a hill without being out of breath,'" Larson told Insider.

 

She continued: "So, I started this journey thinking I'll get strong and I had no idea. I went far beyond what I ever believed was possible for my body."

 

Larson's casting as Captain Marvel was officially announced back in July 2016 as part of Marvel Studios' Hall H panel at San Diego Comic-Con. Like other stars who have joined the MCU, the Oscar-winning actress trained hard in the lead-up to her debut. 

 

She chronicles her fitness milestones — like pushing a nearly 5,000 pound Jeep while her trainer, Jason Walsh, was inside — on Twitter, Instagram, and her YouTube channel and has continued to give fans insight into her exercise routines. 

 

"Being able to hip thrust 400 pounds, deadlift 200 pounds, push my trainer's Jeep, I mean, it's an incredible experience to realize what's inside of you is well beyond what you knew was possible," Larson said. "And I have Carol to thank for that."

 

"That's part of why it's no surprise to me that this character has been able to reverberate outward, because she first and foremost changed my life," she added. "So it makes sense to me that she could change other lives too."

 

Larson made her first appearance as the superhero in 2019's "Captain Marvel" and reprised the role later that year for "Avengers: Endgame." Most recently, she appeared in the mid-credits scene for "Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings."

 

Larson will return for a "Captain Marvel" sequel called "The Marvels," currently set for release on February 17, 2023.

 

The actress couldn't share too many details about the standalone sequel but told Insider that she spent "many months" training. 

 

Larson said that it's difficult to pinpoint exactly how much time she dedicated to workout specifically for "The Marvels" because she doesn't stop training anymore.

 

Instead, fitness has become an ongoing, "huge part" of her regular routine.  

 

Still, the actress said that her training for the upcoming film "definitely pushed me further" because she had "different goals" this time around.  

 

"I wasn't gonna try to break my deadlifting record or hip thrust record," Larson explained. "To me, it felt like I had done that. I wanted to focus on new challenges."

 

Just as Carol's powers have been evolving throughout her time in the MCU, so have Larson's real-life capabilities. 

 

"In the first film she's developing that strength, and so I was developing my own personal strength with this one," the actress said. "She's already got more mastery over her powers. She can fly now. And so having my body more limber, more ready for these types of movements like wirework, which I didn't have to do as much on the first one, was the main goal."

 

Larson, who's promoting her multi-year partnership with Nissan and the brand's 2022 Super Bowl ad, said that she primarily focused on being able to execute everything required of her, making sure that "my body was just a tool, a machine that could be thrown into whatever."

 

The "Unicorn Store" star said that her "main goal" was to be able to do a one-arm pull-up. Within a few months of practicing, she was able to perform it on her left and right arms. Then she set a new goal — a one-arm push-up — and "sure enough," she got the hang of it. 

 

"I just started to get kind of obsessed with it," Larson said. "When people say like, 'Oh, girls can't do that,' it just makes me wanna do it even more. So there were huge accomplishments this time and I just feel like my body's just getting more and more used to this and more and more excited. Now, it feels weird to not train. I look forward to it."

 

DISNEY+

 

'She-Hulk' Director Kat Coiro Reveals How She Got Marvel Job and Teases Disney+ Series

https://collider.com/she-hulk-tv-series-director-kat-coiro-comments-disney-plus/

Information about She-Hulk, one of the most hotly anticipated Disney+ shows to release this year out of a stacked Marvel slate, has been hard to come by. Since it was first confirmed back in 2019, we've had a trickle of casting news — Jameela Jamil finally confirming her long-rumored villain role in June last year, with Tim Roth mentioning his return as Abomination a number of times — and, back in September 2020, Kat Coiro was attached to direct.

 

Collider's Christina Radish spoke to Coiro ahead of her fourth movie, the J-Lo led Marry Me, and of course, couldn't turn up the opportunity to dig for some She-Hulk news. First of all: how did Coiro land the job, and what is the secret to landing such a high-profile gig as one in the MCU?

 

"It was a huge and involved process," the director told us, noting that she was already a giant fan of the She-Hulk comic book series and went all-out trying to land the gig when she found out the show was being made. In her words:

 

"I’m a huge fan of the MCU, and I was actually a giant fan of the She-Hulk comics, so when I heard they were making it, I went full court press and really sold myself as the person to bring this story to life. It was a huge and involved process. Marvel is one of the most collaborative environments in the world. Even though he’s producing so many things, Kevin [Feige], and Lou [D’Esposito] and Victoria [Alonso] and Brad [Winderbaum], have such a hand in everything. The process was really about getting on the same page and making sure that we were like-minded. It’s never about anybody’s ego. It’s about bringing these stories to life. It was a long process, but those processes to get a job become very easy when you’re really passionate about the material, which I was in the case of that one."

 

"I can’t say very much about the show, but I’m really happy with it. Part of what I appreciate about the MCU is that it’s an ever-expanding universe. It’s almost like an organic being that really responds to what’s going on in the culture and really listens to its fans. I will say that I think there’s a real connectedness to the people who love the MCU and listening to what they want, and I hope we satisfy the fans."

 

‘She-Hulk’ Director  Kat Coiro Teases Bringing a Mix of Humor and Heart to the Marvel Universe (Video)

https://www.thewrap.com/she-hulk-mcu-series-comedy-tone-kat-coiro-interview/

“I never choose a project based on genre. And I actually don’t think very much about genre, I think about character,” Coiro explained to TheWrap during the press day for her upcoming film “Marry Me,” which opens in theaters and on Peacock later this week. “And I think about the emotional lives of the characters and, you know, can I bring something? Can I bring a mix of humor and heart to this? Because that is what I love to watch. And it’s what I love to work with. And so when I stepped into, you know, the Marvel playground — the cool thing about Marvel is that it is an ever-evolving universe and you have straight dramas, and you have very comedic films, and we are in that world where we’re definitely playing with a more comedic world, but it also is still part of Marvel land.”

 

X-Men '97 Producers Reveal Intel on X-Men: The Animated Series Revival

https://comicbook.com/tv-shows/amp/news/x-men-97-details-consulting-producers-julia-eric-lewald-x-men-animated-series-marvel-disney-plus/

Note: this article spoils the end of Season 5

 

The X-Men aren't the only team returning in Marvel Studios' X-Men '97. Husband and wife team Eric and Julia Lewald, two of the creators behind the beloved X-Men: The Animated Series, join original series director Larry Houston as consulting producers on the animated revival ordered at Disney+.

 

The continuation faithfully recreates the style of X-Men: The Animated Series and brings back many of the original cast members, including Cal Dodd (Wolverine), Lenore Zann (Rogue), George Buza (Beast), Alison Sealy-Smith (Storm), Chris Potter (Gambit), Catherine Disher (Jean Grey), Adrian Hough (Nightcrawler), and Christopher Britton (Minister Sinister).

 

X-Men '97 is rumored to be 10 episodes and possibly streaming on Disney+ in 2023.

 

‘Ironheart’: Anthony Ramos Lands New Secret Role In Upcoming Marvel Series

https://deadline.com/2022/02/ironheart-anthony-ramos-marvel-series-1234929548/#recipient_hashed=a5f3f1bf6ce5c428ba6c8408620c6c38d7f27f4c366c84aa1d913bc1a3ffc188

In the Heights star Anthony Ramos looks to have entered the Marvel Cinematic Universe as sources tell Deadline that he is set for a key role in Marvel’s Ironheart series for Disney+. Ironheart will star Dominique Thorne as Marvel character Riri Williams, a genius inventor and  creator of the most advanced suit of armor since Iron Man.

 

Chinaka Hodge was recently tapped as head writer on the series, first announced as being in development during Disney’s investor-day presentation in December 2020. While details behind the Ramos role are unknown, sources say it will be similar to how Jonathan Majors was introduced as Kang the Conqueror in Loki, where he is expected to not only have a big role in this series but in future Marvel projects as well.

 

While a premiere date for the series is still TBD, insiders have told Deadline that Riri Williams is expected to make her debut in the MCU in the upcoming Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, which bows in November.

 

FEEDBACK [51:09]

 

TWITTER

Legends S.H.I.E.L.D. @LegendsofSHIELD

 

What is your favorite @MingNa role? #agentsofshield #starwars #BookofBobaFett #Mulan

Melinda May, Marvel 81%

Fennec Shand, Star Wars 14.3%

Mulan, Disney 4.8%

Dr Jing-Mei Chen, ER 0%

https://twitter.com/LegendsofSHIELD/status/1491776728536166407

 

DISCORD

 

Mattl44

Loving the X-Men recaps, I have started re-watching as well and wanted to chime in: Yes , its very comics accurate, one of the reasons so many of us fell in love with it when it first aired. Yes, the characters were just like that in the comics, at the time. I can imagine how disorienting it is for someone who only knows the characters from films or even in their current form, but this is how they were written then.  Looking forward to further discussions.

 

OUTRO AND BONUS AUDIO [54:10]

 

We would love to hear back from you! Call the voicemail line at 1-844-THE-BUS1 or 844-843-2871.

                  

Join Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. next time as the Agents discuss the 1992 X-Men The Animated Series season 2 episodes 1-5 (As Shown On Disney+). You can listen in live when we record Thursday Evenings at 8:00 PM Eastern time at Geeks.live. Contact Info: Please see http://www.legendsofshield.com for all of our contact information or call our voicemail line at 1-844-THE-BUS1 or 844-843-2871

 

Legends Of S.H.I.E.L.D. Is a Proud Member Of The GonnaGeek Network (gonnageek.com).

 

This podcast was recorded on Thursday February 10th, 2022.

 

Standby for your S.H.I.E.L.D. debriefing ---

 

Audio and Video Production by Stargate Pioneer of GonnaGeek.com.